Shut that thing up

There’s less room in my new place, so I’m forced to live closer to my PC than ever before. Gosh it’s noisy.

Some of the noise is coming from the main hard drive, I’ve installed noflushd in an attempt to keep the hard drive quiet when I’m not actually using it. I’m using ext3 on that hard drive, which apparently doesn’t work too well with noflushd. I should try the Acoustic Management stuff that hdparm now supports as well.

Most of the noise of the system stems from the front case fan, followed by the power supply fan, followed by a tolerable amount of noise from the CPU fan.

Leave a Reply

