New Riding route, nearly getting taken out

One of the challenges a rider faces when moving is working out the best riding route. For me, best means safest, which would hopefully mean riding along designated bike routes as much as possible.

So I’ve chosen pretty much the longest route I could, following the clearly marked bike route from Bardon into Milton, doing a little duck shuffle there, taking a cycling underpass to avoid the main road, then onto designated cycling paths all the way out to uni. This route seriously adds to the length of my ride, but safety first, right?

It was a bit of a rude shock then, when on my first ride home a nice big truck nearly takes me out on the designated riding track. The driver could just not wait to overtake me, and having done so, forgot about me when rejoining the lane; I had to break, stand up and lean the bike over as though I was turning a corner to avoid the back of the truck hitting me, it was a very close run thing.

Leave a Reply

