A Response to “Curing Cancer by Fasting”

Recently planet.linux.org.au was treated too a woowoo article espousing fasting as a cure for cancer. The comment I posted to the story was rejected, as is the authors right:

What a load of codswallop. I’m embarrassed to see something so silly on planet.linux.org.au.

A few days later I got a longish email full of anecdotes backing the claim, I could go through every single paragraph and respond to each, but I can summarise my response, in public, much easier:

Unless you are a health professional, you have no right to recommend any health protocol.

7 Responses to “A Response to “Curing Cancer by Fasting””

  1. sswam Says:

    I think that I have every right to recommend any legal course of action. Am I not allowed to say that a high-protein, high-calorie diet promotes the growth of cancer? I am entitled to speak, and this fact has been established.

    It has been known from before the dawn of western medicine that fasting and good diet can cure a wide variety of diseases.

    I suppose that anyone who has a serious disease such as cancer will not rely on me as their sole authority. I suppose they will consult several doctors and other experts. They may wish to freely consult their own intelligence – even if they are not a health professional.

  2. Evo2 Says:

    It seems my comment on the blog post you refer to was the first to be approved… perhaps my sarcasm was too subtle.

    Evo2.

  3. sswam Says:

    I decided to approve your comments on my post and a couple other abusive and insulting comments.

    Wikipedia cites strong evidence that Fasting has many health benefits, including reduced risks of cancer, although not specifically that it can cure cancer.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fasting#Health_effects

    Research suggests there are major health benefits to caloric restriction. Benefits include reduced risks of cancer, cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, insulin resistance, immune disorders, and more generally, the slowing of the aging process, and the potential to increase maximum life span.[2] According to Dr. Mark P. Mattson, chief of the laboratory of neurosciences at the US National Institute on Aging, fasting every other day (intermittent fasting) shows beneficial effects as strong as those of caloric-restriction diets[3] in mice, and a small study conducted on humans at the University of Illinois indicates the same results [4]

    According to the US National Academy of Sciences, other health benefits include stress resistance, increased insulin sensitivity, reduced morbidity, and increased life span.[7][8] Long-term studies in humans have not been conducted. However, short-term human trials showed benefits in weight loss.

  4. clintonroy Says:

    You have a legal right to say whatever you want. You have a moral responsibility to not cause harm.

    I have a right of reply and a moral responsibility to hold your claims to account. I have an extra right of reply as your content is aggregated next to mine, and for me not to reply gives the impression of acceptance.

    It is ironic that the greatest product of the enlightenment, the Internet, has become home to conspiracy, quackery and just plain lunacy.

    Quackery is dangerous, it kills people, and has killed Australians. Quackery must be responded to and rebuffed, particularly in your own backyard.

  5. Melinda Says:

    Anyone that uses Wikipedia as a reference for anything of a serious nature needs their head read :|

  6. The Dude Says:

    sswam – if I say “The Earth if Flat”, until you go out into space and can “see” that it is indeed an oblate spheroid, I can make whatever claim I want. Even if you were a health professional, you would need a significant amount of irrefutable evidence to support your “hypothesis”….which is what it is for now. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

